Today was a good day. Lessons were going well and I implemented a new behavior plan for a few of my students. In the afternoon after dealing with blood and a sick child I taught more on astronomy. Today was Venus. We discussed what the planet surface was like and I showed a video of a volcano erupting. I explained eruptions can be tragic or somewhat benign depending on where, when and how big. I compared a huge eruption to that of the meteor theory on the extinction of the dinosaur. When I mentioned dinosaur I heard a student say dinosaurs never existed. Now I know everyone has beliefs and this must be respected. I turned to my student and simply told him agree to disagree. I’m learning in situations like this it’s best to quickly move on and not dwell. 

Leave a Reply

