When I began my new career, I had a few non-negotiables. One, homework was assigned every day. I felt it was necessary to ensure students were practicing what they learn in school. It did not work that way. First half of my students simply refused to submit their homework. Second the other half with few exceptions were given the answers by someone else. This then lead to issues in class, being met by blank stares. One day as I made my way through one ream of paper I decided no more. We will from this day forward complete homework in class. 

I did not know this would lead to phone calls from parents. Not a lot but enough to be bothersome. Once I explained my reasoning parents said ok. The time at home can be spent on practice drills versus parents trying to decipher common core math. 

In a short time I am seeing some differences and I am happier for it. 

Leave a Reply

